Staff Advisory Committee Meeting

April 27, 2020 2:00 pm Zoom

Attendees: Michael Carlson, Cheryl Dunn, John Lindquist, Kay McClure-Kelly, Ann Powers, Katelyn Rife, McKinzie Sutter, Kaye Wolfe

Carlson called the meeting to order at 2:05 pm.

Committee member elections:

- Carlson provided updated list on the current committee member terms (Table 1)
 - McClure-Kelly will now serve until 2021
 - Carlson will now serve until 2022
- Sutter updated the committee on her new job within UNL
- Carlson provided information on which group new members will be elected from
 - Admin/HAPPI
 - One person for a two-year term (serve until 2022), to take over for McClure-Kelly's term.
 - Lab/Computer
 - One person for a one-year term (serve until 2021) to 'fill' out the 2021 class of committee members
 - One person for a three-year term (serve until 2023) to replace Sutter
- Carlson showed the committee the Survey Monkey form that will be used for the election.
 - All eligible staff will be listed under the correct grouping, with those nominated highlighted in red.
 - Current and rotating off SAC members will be deleted from the list of eligible staff.
- Call for nominations will occur 5/4 to 5/13 with elections starting the following week for two weeks on the Survey Monkey.

June officer elections

- Carlson updated committee on how he thought the elections should proceed after new committee members are elected.
 - Recommended to elect all three positions with a strong recommendation that the new chair have previously served on SAC. Vice-chair and secretary will serve their terms as previously outlined in the by-laws.

Professional Development Award

- Carlson will update the draft email and send out for further comments.
- Email to department will go out at same time as elections.

SAC Minutes 4.27.2020

Special Contribution Award

- 14 staff were nominated:
 - o Fran Benne
 - Craig Ferguson
 - o Tom Galusha
 - Lana Johnson
 - Sarah Johnston
 - Mike Livingston
 - Casey Lundberg

- TJ McAndrews
- Mitch Montgomery
- Vicki Schroeder
- Julie Jacbos
- Heather Steffens
- McKinzie Sutter
- o Grace Troupe
- The following staff were ineligible to win the award because of winning the award within the past few years:
 - o Lana Johnson
 - Sarah Johnston
 - Mike Livingston

- Casey Lundberg
- TJ McAndrews
- Heather Steffens
- Sutter was not able to win the award because of being apart of the committee (see Article 4, Section 3A of the By-laws).
- Fran Benne will be award the SCA for Spring 2020 from her multiple strong nominations.
 - Will work with Martha to present the award at a Staff Zoom meeting in the next few weeks.
- Dunn, Sutter, Rife brought up that the committee should research how we can award our Distance Education and Research Technologist groups in the future.
- Powers suggested the committee discuss how we decide to bar previously SCA winners from winning the nomination again.

Ombudsperson:

 Powers shared one comment about an individual struggling with the changes in work everyone was experiencing.