4 honored with Milton E. Mohr Awards

Monday, May 13, 2019
Jesaelen Gizotti de Moraes

Recipients of Milton E. Mohr 2019–2020 awards include Jesaelen Gizotti de Moraes, left, Clay Christenson, Chad Lammers and Caleb Wehrbein.

Four Department of Agronomy and Horticulture students have been named recipients of Milton E. Mohr 2019–2020 awards. These awards recognize outstanding undergraduate and graduate students in the sciences of biotechnology and engineering based on their academic performance and potential for accomplishments in their specific field.

Jesaelen Gizotti de Moraes, an agronomy doctoral student, was awarded a graduate fellowship. She is advised by Greg Kruger, associate professor of agronomy, and weed science and application technology specialist at the West Central Research and Extension Center in North Platte.

Her research focus is on dicamba applications which have been highly scrutinized over the last two years. Further investigation is needed in order to draw conclusions about its performance and off-target movement. Research projects have been developed and will be used to better understand the impact of dicamba applications on droplet size, contact angle, evaporation rate, absorption and weed control. Moreover, studies will be conducted to characterize the impact of tank-mix partners on the pattern uniformity, coverage and efficacy of dicamba applications.

Scholarships were awarded to undergraduates Clay Christenson, Chad Lammers and Caleb Wehrbein. They are plant biology majors with a biotechnology option.

Christenson, a sophomore, is also majoring in mathematics. After graduation he plans to attend graduate school in bioinformatics or computational genetics. He is advised by Don Lee, professor of agronomy and horticulture.

Lammers, a junior from Hartington, Nebraska, has worked with various companies to explore potential agricultural careers. He has spent time at Northeast Ag Consulting in Hartington to learn about crop scouting, Corteva in York to learn about corn breeding, BASF at Beaver Crossing to explore tech service and on a UCARE project to learn about research.

After graduation he plans to attend graduate school and eventually return to northeast Nebraska. Lammers is advised by agronomy and horticulture associate professor Harkamal Walia and Lee.

Wehrbein, a junior, is also working on a minor in horticulture. He is advised by David Holding, associate professor of agronomy and horticulture.

The Milton E. Mohr Scholarship and Fellowship Awards Program was established in 1989 for students in the College of Engineering or biotechnology degree programs. The scholarships and fellowships are made possible through an endowment to the University Foundation.

Mohr was described in his lifetime as an engineer, inventor, entrepreneur, corporate leader and instrumental in providing key leadership to young adults. In 1938, he graduated highest in his class from Nebraska with a bachelor of science degree in electrical engineering. In 1959, Nebraska awarded him an honorary doctorate of engineering. He was president and CEO of Quotron Systems, formerly Bunker Ramo Corporation, an electrical engineer, corporate executive and philanthropist. He was named America's Most Outstanding Young Electrical Engineer in 1948.

More Agronomy and Horticulture News