Huskers participate in SASES session at annual meeting

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Fran Benne | Agronomy and Horticulture

Agronomy Club at SASES 2018
Nine University of Nebraska–Lincoln Agronomy Club members attend the undergraduate SASES session of the ASA-CSSA annual meeting Nov. 3–6 in Baltimore, Maryland. Members include Rebecca McKay (first row, from left), Michaela Cunningham, Dalton Johnson, Samantha Teten, Rodger Farr, Jared Stander (back row, from left), Ryan Langemeier, Chad Lammers and Kolby Grint.

Representatives from the University of Nebraska–Lincoln Agronomy Club attended the undergraduate Students of Agronomy, Soils, and Environmental Sciences session at the American Society of Agronomy and Crop Science Society of America, with the Canadian Society of Agronomy, Annual Meeting Nov. 3–6 in Baltimore, Maryland.

Nine club members attended the meeting including Michaela Cunningham, Rodger Farr, Kolby Grint, Dalton Johnson, Chad Lammers, Ryan Langemeier, Rebecca McKay, Jared Stander and Samantha Teten.

Department of Agronomy and Horticulture’s Chris Proctor, a co-club adviser with Meghan Sindelar, attended the meeting with the students.

The annual meeting boasted 250 undergraduate students in attendance from across the nation. The Huskers competed in research and club activity poster presentations, public speeches, research oral presentations and the crops judging showcase. The students also had the opportunity to attend research presentations and professional workshops.

Cunningham, Farr and Grint were awarded Golden Opportunity (GO) Scholarships and Teten a Greenfield Scholarship by the ASA, CSSA, and SSSA to attend the meeting and receive a mentor.

Teten presented for the Presidents’ Trophy and took second place while the Quiz Bowl Team of Farr, Grint, Langemeier and Johnson also placed second.

The Crops Judging Team of Langemeier, Teten, Grint, and Farr took second place. The contest consisted of three parts, including plant and seed identification, lab practical and agronomic problem-solving. Langemeier, Teten and Farr individually placed third, seventh and ninth, respectively.

More Agronomy and Horticulture News